Move the Embassy

Nov 8, 2017

The U.S. House Oversight and Government Reform Subcommittee on National Security meets today to discuss the relocation of the U.S. Embassy in Israel from Tel-Aviv to Jerusalem, the capital.

In every country worldwide, the U.S. Embassy is located in its capital. However, the embassy in Israel is in Tel Aviv, despite Congress consistently voting to recognize Jerusalem as Israel’s undivided capital. The Jerusalem Embassy Act of 1995 passed the Senate by 93-5 and the House by 374-37 to move the U.S. Embassy in Israel to Jerusalem by requiring the withholding of State Department funds if was not moved. However, the law was never implemented because of opposition from former Presidents Clinton, Bush and Obama.

President Donald Trump has promised to move the embassy to Jerusalem. Yet, he signed a six-month waiver on June 1, 2017 to delay moving the embassy. The second waiver deadline of the Trump Administration occurs on December 1, 2017.

Last May, approximately 60 Christian leaders, representing 60 million Christians across America, signed a letter that was delivered to President Trump calling on him to move the U.S. Embassy to Jerusalem and thus recognize Jerusalem as the capital of Israel.

Read the Press Release and join the conversation on Facebook!